New adventures in sports reporting

One of the things I love about journalism is the diversity of it. I’ve not really done sports reporting before but for the next 11 days during the Commonwealth Games I’m going to be part of the Games News Service getting flash quotes at the Hockey. Already I’ve had interesting times learning about the sport and meeting my colleagues.

First day was today and it was mainly training, learning about the system we’ll be using and what exactly will be expected of us. When I left my flat this morning it was overcast and by the time I reached the National Hockey Centre I wished I’d worn my shorts at the temperature eventually hit a most un-Glasgow mid 20s.

In among the tech training we got to get some real experience by speaking to Jake Whetton and Mark Knowles from the Australian men’s team and gathering quotes. They’re very much favourites to win the Commonwealth Gold again particularly after their win at the world cup earlier this year. They were both excited to be here and looking forward to starting competing. Their first game is against Wales and they certainly indicated that they will not be going easy on them. We also got to see a short warm up match between the ladies teams of Scotland and New Zealand which I’m afraid to say Scotland lost but not by much.

I’m really excited about getting stuck into this opportunity and getting some experience. The games being in my city is a great opportunity for me and many others to be part of a huge sporting event and it was one I certainly couldn’t pass up.

If you’ll excuse me I’m off to watch the opening ceremony.

Leave a Reply

